Anyone interested in an open source motion sensor?

Hi !
I’m a hardware engineer and I really like Home Assistant. However, I find annoying that any hardware we use is either some cloud connected devices we hack or local devices we flash with custom firmware.
I have developed PIR sensors for my company and was thinking about making one fully open source with the possibility to sell the hardware already assembled (of course I can’t promise to sell it like a consumer product because legislation cost a fortune, but as a dev kit it will be fine).
So I need to ask : are you interested on such hardware ?
If so, what type of connectivity do you want ? (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ZigBee, 433mhz)
Working on batteries or not ? Lithium or disposable ones ?
What kind of price do you expect from such a product ?
Thanks in advance for your replies !

2 Likes

Well, any zigbee motion sensor can be used locally (no cloud) without any hacking, tbh.

When I started my home automation journey, I bought an (expensive) Hue motion sensor, and it’s now happily connected to my HA Yellow without any hacks.

I honestly don’t have any cloud dependent motion sensors out of the 20 or so that I have, Zigbee and Z-Wave are local protocols.

There is probably an audience for an open source motion sensor, if it’s your passion to do it then you should!

No cloud motion sensors here either…
Some rf433, some zigbee… 2 HA set-ups and buildings.

It constantly surprises me that people think that IOT usually needs a cloud connection. It does if you buy expensive proprietary gadgets, like Hue or Tuya.

I have several motion sensors here. Some Zigbee and a couple of DIY sensors where I added a PIR sensor to a Sonoff Basic, flashed with ESPHome. (No cloud)

Zigbee- I would like to see a Zigbee PIR sensor that is powered by battery. But, I haven’t seen anything open source that used Zigbee. Probably because of the Zigbee Alliance requirements.

Bluetooth- range is too short.