Areas - Bulk Editing / Assigning

Is it possible to bulk-edit the areas? I added a whole bunch of devices to HA without assigning them to areas, and I would like to now go and assign them as rooms in my house. I see that I can open EACH entity up and add an area. But I can’t seem to find a way to do this in bulk. Is there a way? If not, that might be a nice feature to add since you can already select multiple in the Entities tab - in addition to enable/disable, assign to area. Thanks!

7 Likes

Hi. I am having exactly same concern. 239 entities without areas. And now it could only be done one by one: Open entity->Advanced->Choose area->update.

I took a faster way: edited .storage\core.entity_registry and .storage\core.device_registry directly updating area property with a value taken from .storage\core.area_registry
But use it at your own risk.

Any updates to this? Any other way of doing this - I am new to this platform .

Same issue here. We’ve improved the functionality of Areas, but I need to mass assign a ton of devices to area now.

I had the same problem but, having some experience with Pyscript, had a go using that. It seems to work just fine, and is presumably slightly less invasive than hand-editing registry files.

My script is here, for people who are comfortable with Pyscript: Home Assistant pyscript to mass-update device areas · GitHub

I relied upon the lucky fact that I’ve named all my entities/devices by a common pattern, which happens to include the area_id.

Disclaimer: you absolutely should not use this if you don’t understand it; I can’t take any responsibility for any problems that may arise. You’ll likely need to edit the script to suit your own needs!

I hope this helps somebody.

3 Likes

Any updates to this? I have over 1000 entities that I need to mass assign to areas.

Same here.