Attach photo in notification

I am wondering is it possible to attach photo in notification? I have added few generic cameras in configuration.yaml and I can view the snapshot using the URL set in still_image_url.

It would be great if I can attach those snapshots in my notifications. For example, when the home alarm is triggered, it will notify me with the snapshot from the specific camera.

4 Likes

That would be awesome!!! At least to send the image by email when the alarm is triggered… I’m sure that there is a workaround to do it through scrips or command lines…
Let’s see. For the moment Im still learning the basics and connecting my sensors from mysensors.

Regards,
Alfredo.

If anyone is still looking, I setup a shell command calling a script to send a camera image to pushbullet. It works well as a notification service.

2 Likes

Hello rpr,
I’m interested :slight_smile:
Would you mind to share the script to do that?

I’m thinking about the posibilites and this is huge!!

Thank you so much!!!
Regards,
Alfredo.

While I’d like to make it better, here is the script. I shamelessly copied it from a Reddit post, I just added the lines at the top to grab the image via shell commands. I’m going to fix that part, it was a quick and dirty hack.

Script:

#!/usr/bin/perl

use JSON;
use LWP::UserAgent;

# credentials and device identifier
my $api_key  = 'pushbullet api key';
my $device   = 'device iden';

# file to send
`rm /tmp/camera1.jpg`;
`wget -q -O /tmp/camera1.jpg http://x.x.x.x:8123/api/camera_proxy/camera.camera1`;
my $file_name = '/tmp/camera1.jpg';
my $file_type = 'image/jpeg';
my $user_agent = LWP::UserAgent->new();
$user_agent->agent('My File Pusher v1.0');

# Send a request for authorisation to upload a file ..
my $request_response =  $user_agent->post('https://api.pushbullet.com/v2/upload-request',
                                          'Authorization' => 'Bearer '.$api_key,