Attempting an intercom

My wife has wanted an intercom in our house for years. Recently I switched from Indigo to HA for multiple reasons, but a bit one was the quality of the UI I could present to her. I was playing around with some frontend things and ran across browser_mod. After realizing it registered a media_player entity I started wondering if I could use that to give her her intercom using wall tablets I had already planned on putting in place.

I started playing with SIP to do this and make calls between browsers, but I wasn’t overly excited about the user interface (probably fixable) and didn’t want to add another thing I had to make sure was always running to keep the WAF high, so I tried to go back to simple.

Disclosure that I am not a developer, but I can copy/paste with the best of them. The below code seems to work (obviously needs a massive amount of cleanup/UI improvements to be at all useful), but curious if anyone sees an issue with what I am doing. My biggest concern is just the size of the audio recording being sent between the browsers, but I’m not really sure a way around that with this approach.

If nobody says this is the worst idea they’ve ever seen I’ll probably try to take this to the finish line and make it usable to everyone besides just me.

class IntercomCard extends HTMLElement {

constructor() {
        super();
        this.attachShadow({ mode: 'open' });
    }

set hass(hass) {
        if (!this._hass) {
            console.log("haSs")
            this._hass = hass;
            this.initRecordings()
        };
    }

setConfig(config) {
        this.config = config;
        const root = this.shadowRoot;
        if (root.lastChild) root.removeChild(root.lastChild);

const card = document.createElement('ha-card');
        const content = document.createElement('div');
        const style = document.createElement('style');
        style.textContent = `
            ha-card {
                /* sample css */
            }