Automation for Thermometer

Hi Folks,

I am pretty new to home assistant and would like help with setting up an automation to turn on a z-wave switch when a thermometer temperature reaches a low threshold and off when is reaches a high threshold. Below is what I have so far which turns the switch on for 1.5 hours and then back off again. The temperature gauge is currently set up (it’s in a sauna) and it’s working. The gauge in located in the “Entities” area of home assistant. I installed the gauge using this article: Sensorpush humidity and temperature sensors

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

John

Rather than automating a thermostat, you could use this:

Thanks Tom! How do I install this? I tried to use the “Add Integration” option but could not find “Generic Thermostat”.

It’s a default integration, so you don’t need to install it. Just add the example code to your configuration.yaml and then adjust according to your devices.

?

There are integrations that are installed by default and they are grouped under default_config. However, Generic Thermostat is not one of them.

Copy-pasting the ‘example code’ to configuration.yaml, and then restarting Home Assistant to load it, is the very definition of installing an integration (i.e. a traditional integration that doesn’t use the ‘config flow’ method of installation).

I could have worded my post more precisely, and no doubt there’s a good reason why HA uses “install” in a way which is slightly different from how most users would understand it. The point remains that there’s no need to use the “Add integration” option in this case.

The point remains that Generic Thermostat is not a “default integration” (a concept that does exist but excludes Generic Thermostat) and is unavailable for use until it’s explicitly specified in configuration.yaml.

To be precise, climate is the integration and Generic Thermostat is a climate platform.