Best Current Door Sensor Solution?

Hi All,

I’m very new to home-assistant / hass.io so getting up to speed is a bit of a task.

I want a button-cell powered magnetic sensor on my garage door, probably using zigbee or similar. I’ve been pointed at aqara products but I really don’t like the idea of the hub / app combination. It looks like bad Chinese crapware. Is there a better solution out there?

I am currently using a hue hub and am cool with having another gateway plugged into my router over ethernet, but I don’t really want something I don’t trust on my wifi network - which is what the little round aqara thing seems to be. As “generic” and “bare bones” as possible. Ideally, just something with a REST api that home-assistant can grok.

I’m a software engineer / platform engineer so more complicated-to-configure-solutions are fine.

I can recommend the aqara sensors, but I use them with a third party ZigBee stick, namely the ConBee II. This way it is completely local, no phone home to china. And you can also use Hue devices with the same hub. I ditched my Hue hub and only use the ConBee with around 60 ZigBee devices from Hue, Ikea, Aqara and Osram.

5 Likes

Are there alternatives that don’t use a usb stick form factor?

No, I don’t think so. But what’s the issue with a USB stick form factor? You can either put the USB stick on an extension cord or put a pi with the USB stick in a central location and communicate over the network between the HA machine and the PI. Or if you go for ZigBee2MQTT just connect the HA machine and the machine with the stick to the same MQTT broker.

There is, a CC2530 connected to an ESP, can be placed where you want. To be used with Zigbee2Mqtt.

Short answer: my hass runs in docker on a real server, which has its USB ports disabled and I don’t want a pi running hidden somewhere. I wouldn’t allow USB dongles in any machine I work on so I won’t allow them at home.