Bond Home Component - Light + Fan

Hi all! I have had a couple of RF ceiling fans for a while that I’ve really wanted to integrate into Home Assistant. Since no components to control my fans existed, I created my own. It uses a Bond Home Hub (https://bondhome.io/), and a Python library I wrote to talk to the hub.

I literally just got the light turning on and off tonight, so it’s rough, and doesn’t have many features. I’ve seen folks posting here about wanting Bond integration though, so I thought I would share where I’m at and perhaps others can help improve the codebase. I’m still really really new to HA development, and I’m by no means a Python expert.

It uses the Bond Local API so if you’re running a v2 firmware that has the local API, and want to try it out, head over to https://github.com/nguyer/homeassistant-bond-home for instructions on setting up the component. Feedback and PRs are most welcome!

11 Likes

I just pushed an update that adds the fan platform, so you should be able to turn fans on and off now. Setting the speed is not supported yet. That, and light brightness are coming next, but they’re a tad more complicated (especially the brightness).

Can this be added via HACS? Ifso would it be integration or plugin?

1 Like

I will definitely look into getting it added to HACS. In fact, someone just made a PR to make the folder structure compatible with HACS. I am not very familiar with it yet so I’m not sure whether it would be and integration or a plugin.

I may also look into getting the component added to the home assistant code base, so it would just be built in. It needs a lot of work before it’s ready for that though.