Bulk Edit for Entities

As an administrator, I want to edit multiple entities simultaneously so it doesnt take me hours to do simple reconfigurations

It takes a really long time to do changes to entities when re-organising things like “Area”, a method to do bulk changes of certain fields would reduce the time to reorganise or fix problems from over an hour to seconds.

Adding a “bulk change” in the existing Configuration > Entities screen that uses the existing tickboxes would be a natural place to do this.

Background
The number of available entities quickly grows, HA is an enthusiast platform so a normal house can easily have over 100 entities when you account for 50 bulbs, 20 remote switches, 10 remote sensors, 4-5 media connections, 2-3 HVAC controls and the occasional connected car or smart cat litter.

Operations like area changes can take a long time by the time you select each one, click advanced, select the area, press update, repeat 100 times.

Providing bulk edit capabilities would make this job simpler and alos promote people experimenting with different configurations as it can be done quickly

You might see if hass-cli might let you do shell scripts to make the changes you’d like to do. I think if the entities in question show up in the GUI, then hass-cli should be able to manipulate them.

I used hass-cli in the past to rename a bunch of Z-Wave entities that got automatically created with really ugly names, 4 or 5 entities for each outlet on a Z-Wave power strip…

See https://www.home-assistant.io/blog/2019/02/04/introducing-home-assistant-cli/ and https://github.com/home-assistant-ecosystem/home-assistant-cli for more info.

Here is an example that I just used it for. I needed to rename a bunch of entities from ‘entityname_2’ to just ‘entityname’

hostname# for i in $(hass-cli entity list architect |awk '{print $1}' | grep -v ENTITY_ID |sed 's/\_2$//g')
do
hass-cli entity rename "${i}_2" ${i}   
done
   -  id: 1
      type: result