Can I run WeeWX in Docker on Hassio?

WeeWX is an open source weather software. I’d like to use it to intercept the WeatherUnderground updates from my weather station base unit, then sent it to HA through MQTT.

Running HA 0.92.2 on Hassio, running in a Docker under Ubuntu Server 18.04. I installed the Portainer add-on. This is on a NUC. I’m new to Docker and not very experienced with Linux, but am of course willing to learn.

How about these steps?

1. Install the WeeWX docker image using Portainer.
  2. Install interceptor driver and MQTT extension for WeeWX.
  3. Redirect traffic directed at Weather Underground to the NUC.

Does this seem right and possible?

Edit: apparently this post was flagged by multiple people and temporarily hidden. The message says it’s recommended to review the suggestions given by forum members. I don’t know what is wrong with my question, would appreciate feedback about this.

This does not appear very friendly, flagging a post without any comment as to why?

1 Like

You are really asking if you can run it in a Docker container on Ubuntu on a NUC.

Nothing in that affects the Hassio containers.

Okay, so when I install the docker image using the Portainer Hass.io add-on, that is a plausible route?

Looking for some pointers if possible.

Apparently this post was flagged by multiple people and temporarily hidden. The message says it’s recommended to review the suggestions given by forum members. I don’t know what is wrong with my question, would appreciate feedback about this.

This does not appear very friendly, flagging a post without any comment as to why?

I agree. Not sure why, maybe the topic it’s in “HassIO” isnt right and it would be better off in “uncategorized”? Maybe it was because it looks like you are asking for docker support, or WeeWX support on the HomeAssistant Forum?