Cant get Alexa TTS working (Please Help)

Hi

I am quite new to Home Assistant, I am trying my hardest to get Alexa TTS working, Ultimately I want Alexa to speak in certain automations but atm I’m just trying to get it to work at all in testing, I don’t know what I am doing wrong. I have the Alexa media player installed from Hacs, I can do things like enable / disable Alexa guard via HA so the Alexa media player add on seems to be working fine but I just can not get the TTS working at all.

I was following this guide:

I’m just trying to get Alexa to say something testing from the developer Tools services page but I just keep getting errors.

‘Failed to call service notify/alexa_media. expected a dictionary for dictionary value @ data[‘target’]. Got ‘media_player.office’’

I have the code copied from that guide exactly although the service page does look different for me, I’m sorry if its really simple I just cant work out what I’m doing wrong.

I would really really appreciate any help.

Thanks

Rickie

I also had such issues with alexa_media service. Instead of using notify.alexa_media as service, you must be having a service with your device name like notify.alexa_media_<your_device_name>. Please try using that and in that you dont have to mention the target device.

Hi

Thanks for your response, I tried that but I am getting the same thing, I removed the target device and used alexa_media_office but still not having it :frowning:

emphasized text

Try like this.

service: notify.alexa_media_office
data:
  data:
    type: announce
    method: all
21 Likes

Thank you so much, that worked perfectly.

Really appreciate all your help.

Kind regards

Rickie

1 Like

I just sign up here to say: Thanks!
I tried for 4 hours now until i found your post.

Now i try to add these to a automatision if someone pass my motion sensor… no clue what to do.
I am really new to this

2 Likes