Can't install homeassistant on VirtualBox for over 6 months

A very long story short, I had a catastrophic failure with my server about 8 months ago, main drive failed, all backups of drive failed, all backups of homeassistant fail to restore (regardless of installing the exact version of homeassistant I was on).

Tried the restore process about 20 times on different pcs, on my main gaming desktop that has an i9 13900K, so I know it’s not CPU bound or anything like that.

Anyway I’m so bored of trying to get the restore to work I’ve decided I’m just going to start again, but I can’t even do that, installing a brand new copy returns this error every time, specs of the server;

i7-5960X
128GB RAM
512GB C drive SSD

I’m at a complete loss, I’m an IT manager by day so I’m not what you can consider a moron but I’m just lost as to what I’m doing wrong here.

I’ve tried uninstalling VirtualBox, it makes no change but does seem to work on my gaming PC if I install fresh, but have no idea how a fresh install can fail on one specific PC? Unless it could be driver related but how I’d figure that out I don’t know.

VB sucks, VMWare player/workstation is 100% more reliable (but a bit harder to set up)

3 Likes

My main requirement is USB pass through so I can have zigbee/zwave, if that works I will setup whatever apart from a standalone Pi, because Pis suck

VMWare supports USB passthrough :wink:

1 Like

Is the error I’m getting likely due to be because of VB?

If you will be running a hypervisor on a Windows machine I suggest Hyper-V, as it comes with Windows and supports USB passthrough - Beginners’ Guide: Hyper-V USB Passthrough - BDRSuite.

If you want to BM install a hypervisor I suggest Proxmox VE.

Do you have USB pass through working on Hyper-V?

I remember ages ago I was trying to migrate to it but couldnt get Hyper-V USB pass through to work for love nor money!