CC2531 Zigbee USB Dongle

Hi experts,

Did anyone tried with this cheap Zigbee USB dongle(CC2531) to integrate with hass ? The original chip was from Texus Instruments which costs arounf 49 USD but with the similar look and name, some Chinese re-seller selling this module very cheap around 12-15 USD.

I am not sure if this thing can be used as a Zigbee Hub if connected to a RPi where hass is running. I am a complete noob regarding all these… So guys ! if my question sounds very basic/stupid, please don’t blame me for that rather a thoughtful answer is expected.

Thanks & Regards

1 Like

Hi.
Should be worked.
I am using DigiZigbee module with usb adapter. It works.

1 Like

@yatsik Thanks a lot for the response. Could you please share the link/guide/post to follow for setting up a ZigBee USB stick with hass in RPi ?

I am excited to experiment with this cheap dongle, if this thing can be integrated, almost every devices can be manageable with hass and users dont have to purchase a creepy HUB from the vendors.

I saw some posts with integrating Z-Wave stick but not much discussion about Zigbee. Our friends who are in USA would be mostly benefited from the Z-Wave integration. As not much devices are Z-Wave (AU Freq.) supported, only a very limited devices are designed for work in AU/NZ freq. but those prices are minimum two times higher compared to its ZigBee brothers.

Thanks again.

Look here:
https://home-assistant.io/components/zigbee/

zigbee:
  device: /dev/ttyUSB0
  baud: 115200

I think. It will works only for Digi ZigBee modules.
Which kind of ZigBee devices do you have?

Hi yatsik,

Thanks for sharing. Yeah that part of the configuration I had checked previously. Please have a look on module I am talking about…

http://au.element14.com/texas-instruments/cc2531emk/cc2531-zigbee-usb-dongle-eval/dp/1855261

I am not sure, what to do to integrate this device into hass !

Thanks & Regards
Tarikul

Yes. I have seen that.
I am using

and this