Cheap Light Switch

Hello Community,

I’m very new in that topic and wondering me if there is a a cheap solution to customize my light switches with a receiver, that I can control my light switches with Home Assistant. Any hints or alternatives I can work with?

Thanks in advance!

It might be helpful if you defined what you are trying to accomplish and what part of the world you are in.

Look here at http://www.bruhautomation.com/ and his video The Cheapest Tech - $6 DIY Internet of Things Smart Outlets
I think you will all answers in very very simple and good way :slight_smile: I like all his video.

1 Like

I’m living in Germany.

Basically I would like to control my ceiling light via HomeAssistant. Surely I can use a MiLight which is cheap and easy to integrate, but the whole automation stops in that moment somebody will use the good old light switch. I’m looking after a possibility to use our light switches in the old school way, which means “push to activate” and I can control the switch via WiFi / 433Mhz rf receiver / whatever.

I hope it’s more clear now? Thanks in Advance!

Unfortunately http://www.bruhautomation.com/ don’t have an answer to that requirement.

2 Likes

i am going to implement some of those in the near future but a cheap way i havent found.
i think it is going to be z-wave.

if there is a cheaper way i would be interested to, but i couldnt find 1 until now

Personally I choose ITEAD SONOFF

Hope to change the firmware to micropython and use the old switch to connect to the sonoff button.
So the old way can also be used like a pair of 2 position switches.

Need to program the changes of state of wall switch as a signal to turn on or turn off depending of current state of the light.

the idea is nice but not easy.
and certainly not if you want to use the place from an old switch build into a brick wall.