Configuration 2

I am new with Home Assistant and struggling with the formating. I am trying to split my configuration.yaml file up so I can understand it better, I have the main configuration.yaml file and trying to add a link to add another file call alarm.yaml. Here is what I have in the configuration file.:

Customization file

customize: !include customize.yaml
alarm: !include alarm.yaml

I get the following error:

Configuration invalid
CHECK CONFIG
extra keys not allowed @ data[‘alarm’]

I am stuck here. Thank for your input.

need to post the whole thing including the contents of alarm.yaml. Only thing I see off the bat is that customize should be under the homeassistant: section not at the root level.

Also, follow the directions in blue at the top of the page. They will show you how to properly format yaml when posting it.

in principle your approach is correct but you have to watch a few things causing trouble

• ensure there is no other object called ‘Alarm’ … this can cause naming conflict in some cases. I have named all my yaml files like … cfg_Alarm.yaml , cfg_lights.yaml
  • ensure the formatting in your Alarm.yaml is correct as this can throw errors as you have shown … if not sure you can Comment section by section and use the “Check Config” option in HA
  • and as @petro mentioned… read the guidelines on how to post content… reason for this is that YAML is very sensitive with formattting especially with the amount of “leading spaces” in your config files. the posting guidelines will ensure that the original format will be maintained and the community here can give you proper feedback

hope this helped

Thank you looking into what you suggested

thank you still looking into the problem

Your issue is very easy to fix. Just post your yaml and it will be pointed out in seconds.

Thanks had a problem and saved the configuration.yaml file with the error. Had to reinstall the complete program.