[custom-component] Fetch song lyrics from Genius.com

Hi there! I’ve found it interesting to want to fetch lyrics and display them on the lovelace frontend, therefore I created a genius.com lyrics component. Simply create a genius.com access token, add the custom component (HACS compatible) and add a markdown lovelace card (example provided). The component auto tracks media_player entities to display lyrics when playing music.

Check out the custom component if you’re interested: genius-lyrics on GitHub

Screenshot of card:

10 Likes

Just installed this tonight - Simple installation, and absolutely what I have been looking for. Thanks so much. Great looking, and get most of the lyrics I have tried so far. Brilliant work!!

Im not a coder, but will try to get my head around this later, but I was wondering if it would be possible to add a loop, so that if no lyrics were found, and there was something in parenthesis in the Song Title - eg. Blowing in the wind (1965 Blues Remix), - and they sometimes come with square brackets [1965 Blues remix], then the parenthesis and content could be stripped out, and then retry calling the API?

Brilliant work !

1 Like

Thank you!

IIRC I think I already strip the naming. That process isn’t perfect because yea… sometimes it’s square brackets or parentheses, etc.

In the [hopefully near] future when I get some free time from work, I’d like to update the dependency python lib and some other cleanup. There are fixes to have waaayy more success finding songs. (You will find sometimes the lyrics are BS and actually a poem or something.)

Well, Im in a band (Bass) and my partner the vocalist, so we are often searching for lyrics, and I have found your implementation MUCH better and more accurate than any other service I have tried in the past, its literally only a couple of tracks that I have tried have failed - unlike may other services. So its great work all around.