Daikin Altherma 3 air/water heatpump, Daikin Perfera airco connect to HA through Modbus or KNX

Good day!

I’m new at home automation, am a big time open source fan and would love to use Home Assistant in the near future. I’m also at the point for deciding on some big upgrades in my house, getting rid of gas altogether and move to an air/water heatpump and airco units.

I have a nice proposal for getting the following equipment installed from Daikin:

• 1x Daikin 3MXM68R airco outside unit
  • 2x Daikin FTXM20R airco inside unit
  • 1x Daikin FTXM42R airco inside unit
  • 1x Daikin Altherma 3 heatpump EHVH08S23E9W- LT/ERGA08EV/MADOKA

I read that Daikin offers some cloud hosted service, but I definitely want all the things in my home to run autonomously, so without any external cloud dependencies.

I understood that instead of the WIFI, I can also get either Modbus or KNX connectivity and am wondering if anyone here has experience with either. Specifically for the equipment mentioned above.

I’m not afraid to program a bit myself, but it would be nice if at least the interface exposed from the hardware is somewhat open and accessible :slight_smile:

Which would work best for interfacing with Home Assistant ?
Are all functions (read and write) properly exposed and usable from HA?

Thanks so much!

Hi :wave:!

Unless you have (or are planning to have) an existing Knx installation, I’d go for Modbus. Knx has a big overhead (money-wise) for a single device: power supply + ip interface ~200-350€, ETS license 350-1000€ (Unless you can use Demo forever).

I don’t know the Daikin devices and their differences though.

Hi Farmia, thanks! Ahh, I wasn’t aware that for this KNX I would need some other software, now reading about this ETS - is that some kind of middleware then ? No I don’t have KNX yet, just understood that either KNX or Modbus would be the two ‘open’ options.