deCONZ IKEA motion sensor state change not detected

Hey there,

I’m pretty new to home assistant but I’ve found a solution to all my problems so far. But now I’m stuck and I need your help.

I’ve successfully installed Home Assistant 0.80.0 and deCONZ (2.05.39 / 22.9.2018 - with RaspBee FW 26240500) - both as docker containers and they are working well. I can use the IKEA remote and all bulbs and toggle and automate them in hass.
But the motion sensor wouldn’t do what I want:

The motion sensor is correctly displayed in hass frontend, I can see that it’s state changes when I move in front of it. But when I want to use this to trigger an automation it’s not working.

Normally it should work like this:

trigger:
  platform: state
  entity_id: sensor.tradfri_motion
  to: 'on'

But when observing the state dev tool and the logs, I can see that the state is always on - it doesn’t matter if the motions sensor detects something or not.
The logs are showing, that the sensor is signaling movement by the tag “presence = true”.

... [pydeconz.deconzdevice] tradfri_motion: update presence with True
... [pydeconz.websocket] Websocket data: {"e":"changed","id":"2","r":"sensors","state":{"dark":true,"lastupdated":"2018-10-16T21:40:09","presence":true},"t":"event"}

Therefore I tried to make use of that and use it as a trigger:

trigger:
  platform: template
  value_template: '{{ states.binary_sensor.tradfri_motion_sensor_.presence == True }}'

But unfortunately this is not working as expected.

So I think the deCONZ component is not correctly implementing the motion sensor via the deCONZ API (and therefore observing the state is not helpful), but it should be possible to get a trigger working anyway?

The attributes shown for the sensor in the frontend are:

battery_level: 100
on: true
dark: true
friendly_name: tradfri_motion
device_class: motion

Does anyone have an idea how to solve this?

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile: