DeCONZ, ZHA and Zigbee components and compatible hardware

Hi!

I am just beginning to learn about Home Assistant and experimenting with some Xiaomi devices, but (since I live in Sweden) I don’t want to have non CE 220v devices plugged in. So, I want to bypass the Xiaomi Gateway and connect directly to the (Xiaomi, for now) devices via the zigbee protocol.

I have read in various threads in the forum about how to make this work with for example Dresden RaspBee and deConz RestAPI, and even though I much appreciate the effort from the developers to make this work, I am curious about the possibilities of doing this without the need for the RestAPI in between.

I have also read about the zha component, but as I understand it, this is specifically for the HUSBZB-1 device (not available in Europe).

To try to get somewhere, I have purchased both RaspBee and I have a CC2530 chip on the way. And since these are GPIO-devices (and since Home Assistant has a GPIO-zigbee component), wouldn’t it be possible to use it for these devices?

The documentation (https://home-assistant.io/components/zigbee/) says “ZigBee integration for Home Assistant allows you to utilize modules such as the XBee as wireless General Purpose Input/Output (GPIO) devices.”. I interpret it as it is possible, but I really don’t know where to go from here.

So I guess what I am wondering is:

1. Is it possible to use the zha-component for other hardware (available in Europe) than HUSBZB-1?
  2. What needs to be done (configuration/development or otherwise) to be able to utilize RaspBee or CC2530/31 with the zigbee GPIO component?
  3. Is there any other way to get Home Assistant to communicate with zigbee devices (via RaspBee, CC2530 or other) without the need for third party api’s or gateways?

I am a developer myself (C# “unfortunately” in this context, so no Python or low level programming, yet, at least), but I am happy to contribute if I can.

1 Like

Check out the telegesis stick on m.nu

1 Like