Deploying HA across 160 rooms in a nursing home for accessibility. How? Looking for opinions from those who have done commercial deployments!

I’m currently running HAOS inside of a proxmox VM. I would like each resident’s instance to be individual to THEM and THEIR ROOM. I don’t want ANY chance of their buttons/integrations/automations to affect another resident’s room.

How would you go about this?

Zigbee? Thread/Matter?

I’m new to these protocols, and am worried about crosstalk/interference/etc.

There’s going to be a new building, and I’m interested in getting smart switches installed in the walls and networking planned ahead of time for this. I’d like to minimize cost as much as possible.

Would 160 rooms of zigbee devices work cooperatively as a mesh or just jabber on top of each other until they can’t hear anything anymore?

There will hopefully be robust wifi in MOST of the rooms, but as it’s set up now, some rooms have worse WiFi than others with the WAPs set up in the hallways outside of the rooms. Hopefully there will be ethernet drops in all of the rooms, but I believe we will be disallowed from running 160 WAPs.

Is HomeAssistant a good fit for this?

My current building has approx 130 rooms across 4 floors, so something like 31-33 rooms per floor (some floors have more /less)

I could probably set up a small server at each nursing station. I was thinking a proxmox node per floor, with a backbone connection for failover, and a conbee link or something similar attached to the server if zigbee is indeed the best option.

Has anyone here ever done a commercial deployment?

Personally, I’d think very carefully before deploying HA in an environment where there’s any expectation of stability. At the very least, you’d need to disable automatic updates. Plus, once you have a stable environment - don’t update!

IMHO HA still has too many breaking changes to be considered a “production-ready” solution.

8 Likes

Agreed, what recommendations might you use?