Dexcom integration failed today

I’ve been using the Dexcom integration for several months, but it stopped working early this afternoon with the following error:

glucose_readings.append(GlucoseReading(json_glucose_reading))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/pydexcom/__init__.py", line 44, in __init__
    self.trend_description = DEXCOM_TREND_DESCRIPTIONS[self.trend]
TypeError: list indices must be integers or slices, not str
2021-11-30 19:17:06 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.dexcom] Unexpected error fetching dexcom data: list indices must be integers or slices, not str

I restarted the server with no improvements and then removed and re-added the integration with no luck. Same error. Just wondering if anyone else is seeing this?

2 Likes

I came to post this as well. Mine did not recover from their service outage today caused by Dexcom maintenance: https://status.dexcom.com/
I’m in Canada and use the “non-US” EU servers.

I read that Dexcom deprecated some APIs last month which impacted Sugarmate: FAQs: Sugarmate and Dexcom Connection | Sugarmate Help Center

My plan if this issue persists is that I’ll setup a Nightscout instance in my homelab. From my Loop app, I’ll send the data to Nightscout. Once the data is within Nightscout, I’ll use the Nightscout integration to get a near real-time blood sugar number.

1 Like

Interesting. I’m in Canada as well.

I’m going to assume that Dexcom changed something and will wait for a day or two. I have several automations based upon my son’s readings and really need a solution. I will look into Nightscout as well.

Thanks!

1 Like

I also tried deleting and re-adding the integration. When you do that, you get the error:

Retrying setup: list indices must be integers or slices, not str

I’m in Canada as well. And mine also broke today.

Reload action requested HA restart. Went from red exclamation symbol to simply “unavailable”.