Dimmer button: Slide to dim, tap to toggle

For a long time I’ve been searching for an easy way to control my lights and switches on touch screen devices but none of the cards that I’ve tried did what I wanted them to do, so I decided to make my own card instead.

https://github.com/tonyflowed/dimmer-button
Inspired by the quick access device controls on Android 11 I tried to make a card that’s both compact and easy to use on touch screens.
One tap toggles the device and sliding over the button sets the brightness. For devices without support for setting the brightness, both sliding and tapping toggles the device on or off.

This is my first attempt at creating a lovelace card so hopefully everything works as expected, if it doesn’t let me know!

13 Likes

Thats exactly what i was searching for over the past last year, it would be awesome if it would be possible to set as background an image which then got lit like your card! and perhaps a possibility to set the slider vertically! And also sorry to feedback this, the card isnt working with ipad 14.3:/

But overall this is really a neat card! thanks for this contribution and the great work!!! Awesome!!!

I’ll see if I can add that!
That’s a shame it’s not working though, I tested it on all my devices before I uploaded but unfortunately I don’t have any apple devices to test on. Which part isn’t working?

Thanks for :hugs: it is displaying the slider correctly but sliding on my tablet doesnt work (same goes for my phone with ios 12.4.3 - it worked one time but cant replicate, been sitting here and sliding over the phone like an idiot :joy: )- if you need any help dont hesitate to ask​:+1:t4::hugs: i am a bit busy but will look here as often as possible​:hugs:

Just uploaded a new version, not sure if I fixed the ios problem or not but I included background images and a bunch of new features! Let me know if it fixed it for you or broke something else :grin:

1 Like