Dimmer control

After setting up HA and hooking up a bunch of stuff, mostly lights, there was one piece that was hard to achieve. That was proper dimming of lights, through HA. Making a Hue dimmer remote dim Hue lights through the Hue bridge wasn’t a problem. But a dimmer remote connected through deconz could not easily dim a bunch of lights from another domain.

Doing dimming using raw Home Assistant automation and scripts is a really horrible experience, and I could not stomach creating all those littble bits and pieces to make it fit together. And then do it all again when adding a new dimmer.

I’m a programmer, so I prefer writing actual code. But I also really like how HA makes it easy connect things together using configuration and a UI. So I started thinking about how I would want it to work and created a prototype using AppDaemon. I’m pretty happy with the result and would like to share it here. I know there are many other dimmer projects, and I did not go through all of them. But I think many of them are more concerned with other aspects of dimming, such as optimal light control, so this is complementary.

The core idea is that dimming should be a state in the state machine. A “dimmer contoller”, or just “dimmer” for short, has a state that can be inactive, or dimming up, or dimming down. Then you tell it what lights it should control. And then you add automations to connect your dimmer buttons to the dimmer controller.

For the prototype, I had to fake the state using an input number, but that works fine.

The prototype can be found at

Now, I’d really like this to be a feature in HA itself, so if I find the time I’ll see if I an make it a custom component that has its own state instead. But then I would need some Lovelace work to make it really useful.

Please have a look at the README on the github page and let me know what you think.

1 Like

Interesting approach that I haven’t seen before.