Disable devices card?

i have recently made an automation to notify al the alexas around the house if there is motion at the front door but i am wondering if its possible to make a card so if need be i can unselect specific devices from being notified? i am very new to coding so i have no idea how to do it if its possible

maybe something like a device button selection card so all devices that are selected will be notified?

this is my current code

You can use the already existing do-not-disturb buttons in combination with type: announce:

service: notify.alexa_media
data:
  data:
    type: announce
  target: media_player.a, media_player.b, media_player.c

By using announce your Echos will only speak the message if the do-not-disturb button is set to off.

1 Like

would enabling that do not disturb affect anything else with the alexa devices though? also i do prefer tts as it doesn’t include the dong sounds at the beginning of the messages

As far as I could experience: no. But if you don’t like the announce dong, one approach would be to create input booleans corresponding to the object_id of your Alexa mediaplayers:

input_boolean.bri

input_boolean.living_room

…

and so on. After that, replace your automation action with:

- service: notify.alexa_media
    data:
      target: |
        {% set players =
          [
          'input_boolean.bri',
          'input_boolean.living_room',
          ]
          |select('is_state', 'on')
          |list |replace('input_boolean', 'media_player') %}
        {{ players if players != '[]' else 'media_player.your_fallback_alexa_mediaplayer' }}

The code above checks if any of your corresponding input bools are turned on. If so, the domain gets replaced with media_player to get the list of target players. The if-statement ensures that a notification is always played if you forget to activate the UI buttons.

1 Like