DNS configuration help

Hi,

I’ve been running Home Assistant for a few months now and i’ve found the AdGuard add-on to be really useful.

However, i’ve grown tired of constantly trying to remember the IP addresses of the many devices i’ve got so ideally i’d like to get a DNS server running internally.

I had originally thought about using DNSMasq, but of course the immediate problem i’ve hit is that it won’t run because it wants to also grab Port #53 (TCP and UDP) which is already being utilised by AdGuard.

So far as I can’t see there isn’t any way in AdGuard to add your own CNAME, A and PTR records so i’m a bit stuck as to how I could work around the issue. I also contemplated using alternate ports but all of the various locations I can see where you might specify a DNS server address don’t provide any means to specify an alternate port.

Has anyone got any good suggestions on how to work around this please?

I’m running HA using Hass.io which in turn is running as a VM in Proxmox, so another option might be to create a totally seperate VM and run another DNS Server in there, but if there’s a means to do the entire thing within HA then that’d be a big plus.

Thanks inadvance

Pete

You can simulate A records in AdGuard by using the rewrite rules. Might be possible for CNAMEs as well, but I haven’t tested that.

Thanks for the suggestion.

As I hadn’t had much in the way of feedback I actually downloaded a container template for Ubuntu and then stripped out the default DNS stub and replaced it with DNSMasq. I’m just doing the config of DNSMasq at the moment but it looks like it’ll do the job and as it’s running in a container it’s a pretty lightweight way to do it.

You’ll need to have your dnsmasq instance use adguard upstream in order to get the adblocking benefits, right?

Yes, that’s exactly what i’ve done. Upstream is pointing to AdGuard but DNSMasq instance is hit first to allow local resolution to take place.

Pete

Hi,