Docker DNS crashes with 'panic: runtime error: invalid memory address or nil pointer dereference'

I’m new to HA and have installed HAOS directly on an x86 machine. The networking side I initiated with DHCP and even with that none of the default ‘web’ integrations wanted to work (Weather, Radio Browser) and any subsequent integrations I add fail if they need to hit external - but I can install them from Github.
I have been able to resolve some of these issues with editing the docker containers to use a ‘real’ nameserver (8.8.8.8) instead of 172.30.32.3, including the homeassistant docker container via terminal - but I’ve been unable to use HACS and some docker containers shut down after failing to authenticate with appropriate values in their configuration section, so I have no ability to give them an updated DNS.
Why are the docker containers trying to use 172.30.32.3, can I change that to always use something else or can I get a DNS service running at that IP?

As far as I can tell I have no DNS issues as per DNS server issues - Home Assistant

ha resolution info 
checks:
- enabled: true
  slug: dns_server_ipv6
  slug: supervisor_trust
  slug: docker_config
  slug: core_security
  slug: network_interface_ipv4
  slug: addon_pwned
  slug: free_space
  slug: dns_server
  slug: multiple_data_disks
  slug: backups
issues: []
suggestions: []
unhealthy: []
unsupported: []

did you try

ha dns options --servers dns://1.1.1.1
ha dns restart

Unfortunately yes, no luck with that either. I retried it again just now, no luck. HACS and other add ons that are trying to resolve DNS records are still failing.

IPv6 disabled ?
No firewall blocking DOH ?

Yep I turned off IPv6 under System > Network, and there’s no fancy firewall on my end :disappointed:

I’ve found the DNS docker container that HAOS runs and the logs indicate it falls over while booting up

cont-init: info: /etc/cont-init.d/corefile.sh exited 0
s6-rc: info: service legacy-cont-init successfully started