Dutch Public Transport sensor (ovapi.nl)

Hi all,

I’m a beginner in python scripting but with some help I’ve created a script that gets information of a tram stop from a puplic transport Api provider in the Netherlands :slight_smile:

The example works and creates a python dictionary, in the key [‘stops’] a list of dictionaries is created for the stop information.

I’m still figuring out the way that sensors are build, I’m using this example

So it’s a work in progress, I’ll cross my fingers for a release soon!

The repro is located here: https://github.com/Paul-dH/Home-Assisant-Sensor-OvApi

1 Like

Nice work Paul. I am using it and it works fine!

Thanks! I’ve planned to work on a few small bugs in the near future (when there are no new arivals the script gives a error). Please let me know if you face any issues.

I hope you don’t mind, but I made a pull request to fix a few bugs.
I also added versioning to track new releases

1 Like

Nice! You’ve done a great job. This was still hunting me on my todolist. I’m testing your version now, so fingers crossed. I’m a bit new to Git, but I will asap approve your changes :slight_smile:

Thanks again, really appreciate it!

Hi @Pippyn,

I’ve tested your changes and there are no more errors in the logs. I did found a issue with my template sensors, they stopped working. This could be because the delay property is missing in the departures object. It looks like you’ve changed the code to return all the departures as a string :slight_smile:

I’m using the following template to show 5 rows of departure times beneath each other, are you using another or are you using the sensor in a different way than me?

sensor:
  - platform: ovapi
    name: Tram_6
    stop_code: '9505'
    route_code: '32009505'
  - platform: template
    sensors:
      tram_6_departure1:
        friendly_name: Vertrek Tram 6
        entity_id: sensor.tram_6__stop_9505
        icon_template: "{{ state_attr('sensor.tram_6__stop_9505','icon') }}"