Energy panel with heating in GJ

I just received my “warmtelink” box on my heat-exchanger (“stadsverwarming”), which has a fully functional P1 port ^^

The units coming out of this port are in GJ, which I somehow need to get into the home assistant.

I’m very new to home assistant, started only 2 weeks ago to get an interface to my new shelly plugs, so please bear with me :wink:

At the moment I only have a working P1 script, but I would like to build this properly and try to make it so others can use it as well.

I’m planning to have a good look at what is available for the usual P1 application (electricity) and see if I can transform it to read GJ from my heating system. I’m using a raspberry-pi with now 2 p1 reading cables (it’s a bit tight), so it is already running production for my other energy. This is a custom script, which I extended with mqtt to get the readings into HA. The original way I used the P1 info is using icinga with pnp4nagios, and this still works and this actually triggers the p1 reading for electricity (and thus the mqtt publication).

For this new P1 thing, I think I might want something a little more “usual”, in the sense that I think most implementations use a daemon like system, which sends info every time a P1 packet arrives on the serial interface or after a certain interval (once a minute is plenty, perhaps even 5 minutes or longer for heating).

I want to log locally to a file, to be able to do something with the data in another way when e.g. my HA install goes south.

I believe currently HA doesn’t have the ability to see GJ as an energy unit, so I may need to do some calculations either in home assistant (template) or in the backend sending the data to HA. So far I didn’t have much luck with the template stuff, but that’s probably me doing it wrong, it would be my preference to use the templating, since HA might at some point learn about GJ and could use it directly…