Feature request / feedback. Script / Automation debugger improvements

I recently migrated all of my automations from node red to Home assistant. I’m quite happy with authoring automations (especially with GPT-4’s assistance) but debugging the could be better.

I like the idea of the debugging trace tool, I actually work on a very similar tool in my day job which this inspired. However I think the UX could be improved. Im not a UX designer but have a bit of a background in that space. Here is some feedback

Tab inconsistency

We have 4 tabs at the top. The first one Step details content is contextual to what step you select in the Execution graph.

The other 3 Automation config, trace timeline and related log book entries are static for the whole trace.

This is quite confusing as it keeps breaking my expectations. E.g I select a different step in the execution and Im wondering if trace timeline should change or not?

A good start would be to split step details from the other 3 visually.

Step details

This is probably the most important content so it makes sense to the the first tab.

1. Why is the result: true duplicated across these 2 sections, Also what do these sections mean, its not clear
  2. The selected state of the current node in the graph is not clear enough imo, its easy to lose where you are in the script graph
  3. A lot of nodes in the graph are not selectable, e.g the choose node. This is very confusing because it still has a hover state implying its intractable
  4. There Is no way to know if there is any content to check in the bottom tabs (Changed variables & logbook entries) you are always paging through. It would be great if this content was always visible or if there was some kind of badge indicator on these tabs telling me there is content here
  5. Tooltips on hover on the script execution nodes would help orientate myself

Trace timeline