Feit Electric integration

I’m relatively new to Home Assistant and all the smart devices backends, so please forgive the ignorance of my question, but why isn’t there an integration for connecting with Feit Electric devices (light bulbs, outlets, etc) that doesn’t require reprogramming them? I know they are all Tuya based, but the ability to be able to reprogram them seems to change often. I got a set of bulbs that appear to have a newer firmware again that Tua-convert can’t seem to get around.

Is there a reason a direct integration can’t be made? Or what would I need to make one?

1 Like

Because nobody has developed that?

This is a community (aka volunteer) project. People add support for what interests them.

Adding support would require that their cloud service has a published API (or at least that you can reverse engineer it) that you can work with. Everything else is explained on the HA developer site.

I understand the obvious “just hasn’t been done yet” and being community-based. I just saw the large number of posts about attempting to reprogram Feit products and was wondering if there was some other reason.

2 Likes

TuyaConvert is super easy to flash a lot of these types of devices without opening them.
I have a Raspberry Pi that I don’t know what to do with who’s sole function in life now is to run TuyaConvert.
Once you follow the simple steps it’s a one stop shop for converting these things, and if you don’t like Tasmota and MQTT I’ve recently found a database of ESPHome firmware for tons of Tuya devices.
I’ll be converting mine over the holidays to move towards banishing MQTT.