Getting Started with home security, z-wave - Where to begin?

I am new to the Home Automation/Home Security/Home Assistant Space (Although I’ve watched Home assistant from afar for some time). I am now in the market for a home security/home automation system, and want to get off to a good start. Here are the high points of what I’d like to be able to do:

• Professionally monitored security system with basic entry/motion sensors, down the road add smoke/CO/flood/etc.
    • I would like to use either a Qolsys IQ Panel 2 or a GC3 2Gig panel, or possibly the new VeraSecure if using Z-Wave for sensors makes sense?
    • For monitoring, I plan on using GeoArm.com to save on costs
  • Be able to turn off my AC when a window is open for too long (or, more generally, be able to respond to specific window/door/entry sensor triggers from the alarm system)
  • Be able to dim lights (probably Z-Wave?) when I start playback on my Apple TV if the sun has set
  • Control my sprinklers based on weather, schedules, etc.

I’m under the impression that much of the above can be accomplished with just a smart alarm panel like Qolsys or 2Gig, but integrating with Apple TV makes this a bit more complicated. Ideally, I would get Homebridge, Home Assistant, and Alarm sensors working together, but it’s not clear how to make that integration.

I have looked at VeraSecure, which is appealing because of their $10/month introductory monitoring pricing, All-zwave for everything, and it’s priced well. The big exception: I’d have to get a tablet as my primary alarm control panel (what do I do when my phone dies while I’m out and I want to turn off the alarm when I get home?)

Is an all z-wave security system smart? Is it reliable enough to be secure and meaningful? Do hybrid 2Gig/Qolsys on Alarm.comsystems coupled with other Z-Wave sensors integrate well with Home Assistant for bridging with Apple TV and other non-zwave/alarm components?