Google Assistant SDK prevent announcement of broadcast

Great got it to work. Finally a message that does not interupt my music. Is there a way to prevent Google saying: “Incoming Broadcast, its says …”?

10 Likes

Unfortunately no. I assume this is done for platform security purposes so you know why that message didn’t come from Google. For example if someone broadcast, “F* you” and Google transmitted that without the prepended message, someone might think their Google Device randomly cussed them out.

1 Like

Are we certain about this, I do not get this when using broadcast from my phone. It feels like its coming from the integration.

I’m not a Google engineer so can’t say with 100% certainty, but I’ve seen many threads on this subject over on GitHub in the issues section of the various broadcasting integration that exist. And I’ve seen zero threads with a solve.

When you broadcast from your phone, does it replay your voice like a recording or does it come out in the Google voice?

I not sure. I guess it is preventig wrong use as you already stated

I f that’s the case it wuld be possible

Sorry not possible.

So simple answer, is “no” when using the SDK in the way it’s setup here.

But yes it is possible, but HA will need to create a “device” which would then send the announcement (that way in Home you can see where it came from)

This is called notifications as far as Google is concerned (智慧住宅動作通知  |  Cloud-to-cloud  |  Google Home) I.e. Doorbell sends “Someone is at the door” notification.

2 Likes

Which by the way I think Nabu Casa already does with their cloud subscription which home assistant syncs devices with Google Home already. So it would probably need to be something via that integration as it would be one of those “Linked” devices that send the notification.