Google Home mini for TTS

Hi All,

I am new to Home Assistant. I would like to have a Google Home Mini to read out loud my notification. (ex. “You have left your window open in the bedroom!” )

I get that I should use tts but, i do not want to pay a monthly fee for a google or amazon cloud service. Is there a way to buy a Google home mini and use its built in TTS for it to read out notifications sent by Home assistant (without paying a monthly fee)?

If there is, how should I configure it? I see several threads of people using it with google.say, but they are all setting up tts platforms and ddns in hassion configuration. I dont get why is it needed to set up a connection to google on home assistant, if the home mini should handle the communication with googles tts service.

Thanks for the help in advance

I could be wrong but the Google Home devices are just picked up as Google Cast devices with the Google Cast integration.
That’s free.

If you want your Home Assistant devices to show up in Google Assistant with little effort that’s where the Nabu Casa membership picks up.
There is a free way to do that as well.

It doesn’t seem too too hard but I’ve done similar things for getting Assistant-Relay working already.
I’m a cheapskate for sure but knowing my payment goes to support this great project and it’s employees helps me feel better about those few dollars leaving my wallet.

Hi there. I use this addon in NodeRED for the speech output of a text. I saved a text as “msg.payload”. This is then sent to a Google Home through the add-on and the audio output takes place. It’s a great thing. Good luck with creating the flow…
Sorry, first of all welcome to the forum!

Thank you for all the responses. My home assistant is just in the process of installing NodeRED, while I was reading your responses :smile: . Thanks for all the help, ill look into both solutions.