HA Strange Behavior -- SOLVED!

Posting this in case it helps someone…

Summary: If your HA setup is exhibiting strange behavior, check your memory usage. HA seems to go berserk when it runs out of memory.

I’ve been running HA on a RPi for several years, and it has been mostly working fine. Lately HA has been acting very strangely at times. Impossible entities appearing out of nowhere (see screenshot below), actions that just wouldn’t work any more, devices disappearing and needing to be re-added to HA, automations that fail to run. Lots of strange stuff. After doing recommended fixes, like putting my ZWave/Zigbee stick on a cable to get it far away from interference, strange things still kept happening. In all cases, restarting HA didn’t seem to help. Eventually HA would just “hang” and nothing would work.

However, simply power cycling the RPi always seemed to bring HA back to a working state. Artifacts of the strange behavior might remain, e.g., the weird entities that some devices had somehow acquired. Those entities were all “no longer provided by the integration” and could be deleted. But in a day or so, they’d reappear on their own.

I’ve worked in hardware and software for several decades, so I was curious to find out what was going on.
Eventually I noticed, using HA’s System>Hardware screen, that the RPi memory usage was pretty high. Immediately after power on, it would be around 85% utilized. But over the next 24 hours or so, it would slowly climb until it was near 95% utilization.

When the memory utilization got into the mid-90s, the strange behavior started to happen. Within a few hours, HA would still be running, but had become totally unresponsive. Automations didn’t run, GUI wouldn’t work even to do a shutdown or reboot.

That sounded to me like a memory problem, and something in HA was not behaving well when it couldn’t get additional memory it wanted.