[Hass, OS X,...] Xiaomi BLE Temperature and Humidity sensor

Hi,

I am quite new to home automation. My idea is to have an automated heater switch for the winter.

As they are cheap, reliable and good-looking, I want to use the Xiaomi Bluetooth Sensors with a display.
Currently, I am running HA on a Mac as a Docker image.
I do not want to grant the sensors and other products access to the WiFi (so no calling Xiaomi home, though I have a modded Xiaomi Dafang cam that might act as a bridge, I do not want to use it).

I found the section of the home automation site https://www.home-assistant.io/components/sensor.mitemp_bt/
As I am on a Mac, I tried the Docker version.
But one prerequisite is the ā€œproperly configured Bluetooth on the hostā€.

As the usual Linux Bluetooth tools are not available on OSX, I tried (after searching for hours) the LightBlue App. This can discover and establish a Bluetooth connection, but I canā€™t get the MAC address but the UUID.
Apparently, this does not help me.

So now I am wondering if I shall migrate completely to a RasPi and run hass io on it.
BUT for this Xiaomi device it is stated: On Hass io: Not yet supported.

So, in theory: if I ran another linux on the RasPi and would establish a bluetooth connection from the host OS and would in turn run the docker image on the same RasPi, would this solve my problem?

The funny thing is: I tried Homebridge. And it simply works. But I cannot figure out how to get a temperature log and the functionality is limited (for example to establish a rule like: if the temp<18, power on wifi socket, if temp>21, power off wifi socket - I can only create a bunch of rules in the Elgato Eve app that check every x minutes if the temp is in the given range and then either power on OR power off. Meaning I currently have one rule at 0:00 check if temp <18, on, then 0:01 check if temp >21, off and that for every half an hourā€¦).