HASS virtualenv in jail on FreeNAS 11 with auto-start and zwave

Hi! Im still very new to this whole home automation thing. I’m thankful to have found something like Home Assistant to run the show! Hopefully this is in the right place and some can find this helpful. After getting HA running running in a virtualenv on my FreeNAS I wanted to put something together in case I needed to reinstall. Although many great guides are out there none that I came across had all this information in one place and relating to FreeNAS. This is more or less a collection and reorganization of information found in other guides and targeted at using a virtualenv to run HA in a jail on FreeNAS 11 as a non-root user (homeassistant), auto start on jail reboot and working zwave (Aeotec ZW090 Z-Stick GEN5) So here we go!

####Using the FreeNAS GUI, create new jail called Home_Assistant
####From the terminal inside your jail, update and install required packages.

• python35 py35-sqlite3 - Required to run Home Assistant
  • bash - Needed to active virtualenv
  • gmake - Needed to install Z-Wave

root@Home_Assistant:/ #  pkg update
root@Home_Assistant:/ #  pkg upgrade
root@Home_Assistant:/ #  pkg install python35 py35-sqlite3 bash gmake
root@Home_Assistant:/ #  python3.5 -m ensurepip
root@Home_Assistant:/ #  pip3 install --upgrade virtualenv

###Create the homeassistant user
Run adduser and answer questions. Although not required, I recommend changing the default shell to bash for the homeassistant user since bash will be needed for activating the virtualenv created later on. Also I am adding the homeassistant user to the ‘dialer’ group. This is only required for using USB Z-Wave devices such as the Aeotec ZW090 Z-Stick.

Here’s how it all looks below. Questions I marked with an astrick (*) are answers I provided. Other questions I simply pressed ‘enter’ to accept default answer

root@Home_Assistant:/ #  adduser

* Username: homeassistant
* Full name: Hass
  Uid (Leave empty for default):