Hassio on PI4 with official SSD released bios support

Hi all

I really like the all in one PI 4 image of home assistant, but i HATE SD as they failed me already two times so reinstalled HA from scratch already two times and makes me feel scared about home assistant.
Is there any news about hassio image boot support for SSD as the stable BIOs is released or do I have to look for other alternitives because I had it with SD failures, don’t got a good feeling with HA for controlling my house with the current setup with SD :frowning:

12 Likes

Gets my vote too - I’d love to move into my Pi 4 with SSD :smiley:

1 Like

A standard 32GB SanDisk has lasted me over 2 years, but I’m afraid it might die anytime soon just because of how infamous they’re in the forum. A cheapo no brand one that I had used for years died one year after I installed Hassio on it, but to be honest I had been using for longer than 3-4 years before I repurposed it.

Last I heard the USB boot facility (for the Pi 4) was still in Beta, where did you see it as a stable release ?
Can you post a link ?

As the removal of Supervisor support for generic installations has been delayed, I installed raspOS lite on my P4 with a nvme ssd. Then followed the instructions available from kanga_who to install supervised HA. Working beautifully.

I got fed up with SD cards long ago and moved to docker and persistent storage (NAS). A well worth investment but for future projects SSD support would be a great improvement!

Here it is: https://github.com/raspberrypi/rpi-eeprom/blob/2a8c2e77c34d16554956e5ca56697eba9611d2ad/firmware/release-notes.md

2 Likes

Calvin, many thanks for this.
As stated it is the ‘Stable’ release but is still a ‘Pre-Production’ release (ie does not have the ‘easy installation’ method that should soon be released, though having had to install the new cooling firmware manually in a quite agricultural manner, so maybe this is as good as it gets).
Thanks Again