Help with Zone Radius

Hi,

I’m a newbie to HA and would appreciate help with a problem I’m hitting with the zone radius of my home:

After noticing that the default 100 mtrs radius caused HA to log me as ‘at home’ from too far a distance I found that I could change this within Configuration, Customizations. I’ve also added the necessary line into my configuration.yaml file to include the customize.yaml file.
Following a re-boot the reduced radius surrounding my home location was clear to see within Configuration, Zones so I assumed the problem was resolved.

Unfortunately my HA still seems to be behaving as though the boundary is 100 mtrs, not the reduced one of 25 mtrs. The GPS details are being tracked from the IOS mobile app on my iPhone.

Would really appreciate help in getting this sorted as it’s preventing me applying some automations based upon if I’m home or not.

Just a thought … could it be something in the IOS App that needs updating/resetting/enabling since it is presumably the App that reports your location back to HA.

I use the Android App and also changed by radius to 25m and this seems to work fine.

1 Like

Hi Mark,
Many thanks for your suggestion and it’s interesting that a similar radius change works fine with your Android App so it gives me confidence that Home Assistant can work in this way.

On my iPhone the settings against Home Assistant are set to “always allow location access” plus the “Precise Location” control is set to on.

I’m not aware of any other settings I could check / change but I’d be delighted to hear from other iPhone IOS users.

I don’t know if anyone else can offer any advice on resolving the problem that I’m having with HA’s home location / GPS on my iPhone?
Up to now I’ve been really excited about using HA going forwards but if it cannot determine if I am home or not it’s usefulness is seriously limited and perhaps it’s time for me to take a look at openHAB?