Home assistant hangs after few hours

Hi all,
I’ve switched my Home Assistant on RPI 4 on December. It started to hangs 2-3 weeks ago. On homeassistant logs I can find several exception on connection or on timeout on connection.
I have to restart the homeassistant container from ssh 22222.

I suspected the SD card in first instance but the other containers work fine (like mariadb and node-red). So I don’t know how to troubleshooting this issue.

Any hints?

Thanks
Marco

1 Like

No ideas?

Marco

Hello Marco. I’m not a professional and I probably can’t help you either. However, problems often arise if the Raspberry Pi is not supplied with sufficient power. Do you have a power supply with sufficient power? Could that be the cause?

Hi,
I’ve evaluated the power and also the SDCard. But I presume it’s not related to those components because when the hang occurs, I need only to restart the docker container related to the homeassistant. The other containers (nodered, supervisor, duckdns, samba, portainer) still work.

Marco

I’ve tried to go deep in the issue:

• I’ve removed all lovelace modules in the configuration
  • I’ve removed almost all entries in the configuration.yaml (obviously mantained vital rows related to http, authentication and etc.)
  • I’ve removed all automations, scripts

Now the homeassistant hangs after 15-16 hours. In the homeassistant logs are still present exceptions related to upnp, probably because the entities are still present on the database.

Is there a way to dump the threads stacktrace of python3 process related to homeassistant?
Marco

Is it Home Assistant itself that hangs (as in no automations run) or is it just the browser frontend? I’ve had this issue on and off when using Chromium-based browsers (Google Chrome, Brave, etc). On other browsers (FireFox, Opera, Edge), I don’t have any issues.

Hi,
all Home Assistant hangs (no light automations run during the hang period).

Marco