Home assistant - modbus - Siemens 1200 plc

Hi, I posted this question also on the FB community, but with lack on response I’ll give it a try here.

I’m experimenting with HA for 2 months now. Slightly different then most of you guys do. All the lights and switched were already controlled by a Siemens 1200 PLC. I want to use HA as an extra layer on top of the PLC. I managed already to have mqtt communication. But I would like to try Modbus TCP also, it looks less complicated to me. Unfortunately I can’t get it working.

Because I’m not experienced with HA and modbus it’s hard to start debugging.

A lot of examples I found on the net are written in the old yaml syntax, this makes it even more confusing.

Can anyone push me in the right direction?

For example:

Show me how to write one bit high in the PLC with a switch or button.

on FB they advice me to use NodeRed. I definitely will give it a try, bur for now I want to work with HA only, it should work…

Thanks in advance!

You have read the description of the integration Modbus in HA:

Offcourse :wink: I read it many times, but like I told, I don’t know how to start debugging, the plc says it’s trying to establish connection.
Maybe to start, is HA modbus a modbus master of slave?
I assumed its a master (= TCP client) and my plc is the slave (TCP server), don’t know if this is correct.

I forgot to post example of my code.
I kept it simple, don’t know if it’s correct, but like I said, all new for me…

Btw: MQTT works, it’s connected to the same PLC

Hello, i use Node Red in Home Assistant to communicate with a Logo Siemens OBA-7 and work also with Siemens 1200

This is my config for the Logo:

i stopped to use Siemens 1200

Hello Ventilo,

Any chance you could share a demo project or similar that I could import?
I’m trying to get Node Red also to work with a Siemens S7 300 setup here.
But I’m not able to set this all up to get the sort of “hello world” effect :slight_smile: