How do I configure ASA blinds

Hi,
new user, trying to make the switch from Domoticz to Home Assistant.

I’m having trouble trying to control ASA blinds. These work fine with my RFXcom and Domoticz but I can’t get them to work with Home Assistant…

Based on a reading of the Domoticz sources, the ASA protocol is subtype 3 of the RFY protocol. So I tried adding a device 071a0300[unitcode][unitid], using unit code 0d0806 and unit id 01 from my Domoticz install.

Unfortunately, that did not work… What am I doing wrong ? How do I start debugging this ?

Following up to myself: I got ASA blinds working, but that does require a patch too RFXtrx. I’ll create a pull request for this later. (Basically: make sure the subtype gets set correctly on messages in the Rfy class)

Hi Timt,

I’m very new to this, I see the blinds in HA, I see codes in the console, but nothing happens…

Could you elaborate on how you’ve got this working?
THanks

Hi Geert,

I’m trying to remember how I did this, myself. First off: The patch is no longer needed, I’ve contributed it to the pyrfxtrx code base.

Based on my configuration.yaml this is what I did:

cover:
  - platform: group
    name: Front Window
    entities:
      - cover.raam_links_voor
      - cover.raam_midden_voor
      - cover.raam_rechts_voor

- platform: rfxtrx
    automatic_add: False
    devices:
      071a03000d080601:
        name: Raam achter
      071a03000d080602:
        name: Raam zijkant
      071a03000d080603:
        name: Raam Links voor
      071a03000d080604:
        name: Raam Midden voor
      071a03000d080609:
        name: Raam Rechts voor

You’ll have to supply your own IDs obviously.

I think that what I did is:

• Put the blind in ‘learning mode’ (Press up and down simultaneously, until you get a brief up/down movement)
  • select the cover switch you want to assign, and click down.
    If everything is correct, then the blind should move down