How do I hack the Ecobee to control Home Assistant instead of the other way around?

I have been running HA for 3 years. The other day, I stumbled across this great idea for the Ecobee 3 lite on Linus Tech tips:

With the Ecobee 3 Lite, you can lie to it exactly like they say on the video. This is exactly what I need, a friendly front end to Home Assistant for our heating that isn’t physically connected to our heat/cooling at all. In fact, you can see LTT setting Home Assistant Developer State in the video here:

• I have the Ecobee 3 Lite working with HA
  • They sync perfectly
  • I am lying to the Ecobee about devices being connected (there are no wires other than power)

The only problem I have is understanding how to do this in HA - that is - how exactly do I get the Ecobee to control HA through the Thermostat module to control all my other devices? There is not enough of a code snippet there for me to fully understand exactly how they are going about it. I am almost there, but I am missing the step where I get info from the thermostat (or the thermostat card in HA) and then pivot off of that to actually trigger my heat or mini-splits.

Can someone explain the last step, of using the Ecobee and the Thermostat card to be read in as input and output to my actual devices?

(And no, I cannot wire the Ecobee up to my devices - this is why I chose this method of integration in the first place, because the method described in the video does exactly what I need. My heating setup is nearly identical to Linus’s in the video)

I think you misunderstood the video.
The ecobee is not acting as a “frontend” to HA, here.

What LTT is doing is making the ecobee thinks it is connected to an AC. As such, the ecobee goes to cooling mode when it thinks it is needed.
Though (I assume) the ecobee integration, this is is captured in HA which allows them to actually turn on the AC, which is connected somehow to HA and not at all to the ecobee.