How do I pass data from state node and use this in notification? Need some basic help

I am very new to Node Red, so I’m struggling to know how to correctly describe what I want to do, which makes it difficult to search for. I’m pretty sure this is possible, but I don’t even know where to start looking to learn how to do it.

As I expand my alerts, I find myself doing some tedious work of copying and pasting and then making the same change over and over again. For example, if I set up a door alert, I want the notification to say which door it is, so I have to edit it. Same with battery alerts, motion alerts, etc.

For example, I have this setup for door alerts. It is the events:state node, a state node to check an input boolean, and then a call service notify node to push out the notification.

Is there a way for me to make the events:state node put out some message payload (not sure if that’s the right term) that is then transferred through and the call service notify node grabs this and stuffs it into the notification? This would speed up the creation of making things like this, as I could have a single alert at the end and it builds the message based on what I put into the first node that is trigging the whole sequence. And it seems like a good thing to learn.

I’ve pasted the JSON into a gist here if that’s helpful.

Yes. Use a change node after the state nodes, feed them all in to the single change node, and set it to save msg.data to something else - like msg.mstate.

Now your check of the outside door alerts, does every one of those check the same state or does each door have a switch/input boolean or something?

Your notify nodes at the end can then all be changed to a single call, and you can access the name of the door at {{ mstate.new_state.name }}

Thanks. So I can’t quite get it to work. I have the state node for the door, the change node, and then the current state node which checks a single input boolean for all the doors.