How to convert HAstate to KNX friendly state 0/1

Hi. I’m quite new to HA. I have an integration with HA / KNX and Ubiquity. My presence detection is set up but it leaves to states. Home /not_home. I would like to create a second state that converts home to 1 and not_home to 0. This then needs to be sent back to the KNX system.
What do I do?

Thanks in advance

Br.

Christian

You will need to do a few steps, first of read the links in this posts before blindly copying the code so you’ll know what it does.

Create a binary_sensor with template so you can set how it reacts to the state changes.

template:
  - binary_sensor:
    - name: "tracker_phone_a"
      state: >-
        {% if states('device_tracker.unifi_XXXXXXXXXX') == 'home' %}
          {{ 1 }}
        {% elif  states('device_tracker.unifi_XXXXXXXXXX') == 'not_home' %}
          {{ 0 }}
        {% endif %}

This will create the sensor Tracker of phone A which you can then expose in KNX
You can name it whats handy for you and ofc replace the XXXXXXX with whatever Unifi created.
I use the 2 checks for home and not_home to filter out any other state if your using zones.
If you just use those 2 then 1 line would suffise:

template:
  - binary_sensor:
    - name: "tracker_phone_a"
      state: "{{ iif (is_state('device_tracker.unifi_XXXXXXXXXXj', 'home'), 1, 0) }}"

In your configuration.yaml (or split file) you put the expose:

knx:
  expose:
    - type: binary
      entity_id: binary_sensor.tracker_phone_a
      address: "1/0/1"

This wil also make it readable from KNX.
Note that the entity_id starts with binary_sensor. after that you put in the name as created in the template.

As far as i know expose does not support templating so you will need todo these 2 steps.
If not i’m sure someone will pop in to correct me.

An alternative approach would be an automation using a state trigger for home/not_home and the knx.send service as action.