How to integrate your Syncthing, and even make it talk

The situation

I’m a programmer and rely on Syncthing to sync ~1.3 million project files and smartphone pictures/videos across 11 devices. So why not have all important Syncthing data and its status in Home Assistant, and even let it talk to me/alert me when things happen?

I use TTS alerts a lot (using PicoTTS), have quite a well-defined structure for the sound files (in config/www/alerts/), and need (at least) bilingual spoken text. I also use the var custom component to store things like the default media player and the alerts base URI there. My HA already has inputs for TTS on/off and TTS language.

The plan

So I envisioned something like the following for “Syncthing at-a-glance” in HA:

• A Lovelace glance card like this:
    ha-syncthing
  • A Syncthing info sensor that aggregates all info I need from several REST calls into the attributes of one single sensor:
  • Automations that could alert me when Syncthing goes down and/or is started again.
  • A script that could read out essential Syncthing info to me via TTS, in a comprehensible way. (I can trigger these using an RF remote when at home.)

Preparing Syncthing

Syncthing offers a REST API, so integration into HA should be relatively simple. Syncthing’s GUI and REST API are by default restricted to the machine it runs on (localhost), so we need to allow access from the network.

Allow remote access

Warning: If you do this, enable a username and strong password for Syncthing, otherwise this can be a security risk!

Open the Syncthing Web UI and enter Actions → Settings. In the GUI tab, overwrite the value 127.0.0.1:8384 with 0.0.0.0:8384:

This will enable access to Syncthings’s Web UI as well as access to its REST API from other machines (i.e., not only the one Syncthing runs on).

While here, also enter a username and password, if you haven’t already.

Get the API key

In the Web UI, under Actions → Settings, open the General tab: