How to Migrate from Ecobee Cloud Integration to Local HomeKit Controller

I couldn’t find a good tutorial on how to migrate an existing Ecobee integration (cloud dependent) to HomeKit Controller (local control) that answered all of my questions, so I wanted to share my experience here. I hope that it will help others who may have similar questions.

Why HomeKit Controller?:
Given the far-too-frequent Ecobee cloud outages, I had enough of the cloud dependent Ecobee automations failing, and decided it was time to move to local control.

My Current Setup
I have 2 Ecobee Thermostats with some remote sensors connected to each.
These were added to Home Assistant (HA) using the cloud-based HA Ecobee integration and I had been using them for a couple of years this way. I already had Siri integration via Home Assistant’s HomeKit Bridge, so I never had to use the HomeKit integration built into the Ecobee thermostat.

After much searching, I discovered that it is possible to add the Ecobees to HomeKit Controller (HC) AND continue using the Ecobee cloud integration from HA.
This was exactly what I wanted, as it would allow me to add local HC capabilities without interrupting my existing setup, providing a nice clean migration path, instead of having to rearchitect the entire solution. Very nice. Let’s get started!

Caveats to HomeKit Controller:
There are a couple of things to know before diving right in.
First, not all components you see in the HA Ecobee cloud integration will be available in HomeKit Controller. Things like Weather, and any custom Ecobee comfort settings are not supported/available. The HomeKit Controller Ecobee does have support for the following modes: “Home” “Away” “Sleep” but these are called differently using a dropdown select.select_option helper instead of the climate.set_preset_mode service that I was used to. Note the only valid options you can use are ‘home’ ‘away’ or ‘sleep’ and these values are case-sensitive too.