How to Move from Raspberry Pi to Docker

What files do I need to move from my Raspberry Pi to my new Docker installation (running on Dell Inspiron laptop)? Please be gentle, Linux novice here!! I already have HA up and running in the new Docker container, I just want to figure out what files/directories I need/can safely move over.

Thanks!

Your config folder with the files such as configuration.yaml automations.yaml etc

Just make a Full Snapshot and restore it in the new docker installation.
It should include also the config folder.
I’m speaking of Hass.io installation method, also on a docker container.

2 Likes

Do you include the subdirectories under config also (like .storage, etc)?

Thanks!

Also, from my Mac or Windows machines, I can’t see the directories that start with “.” (like .storage). How do I get them?

On a Mac if you are SSH to the Pi in terminal type

ls -la

This will show all the .folders

I would either SCP the files to the static volume on the docker machine with a command similar to below

scp * -r root@<ip address of docker host>:/var/lib/docker/volumes/homeassistant/_data/

This assumes you are in the HA config folder of the pi and you have created a docker volume called homeassistant

On the docker host create the volume with

docker create volume homeassistant

Then start Home Assistant with
docker run -d --name="ha" -v homeassistant:/config -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro --net=host --restart always homeassistant/home-assistant:latest

And bob is your uncle :slight_smile:

Why create a volume when you can mount it directly to the host? Using volumes seems like it’s more of a risk when you don’t know how to manage Docker. Storage on the host seems safer and more understandable.

In docker you mount a volume as that is independent of the docker image, and persistent. That way you can update HA without losing your settings.