How to write a script that intercepts a service call?

Hi!
I am new to home assistant, so sorry in advance if it’s a stupid question, i have tried searching for it with no luck…

I would like to write a script that is triggered when a service is run, read the parameters passed to that service and use them to trigger other services.

in particular i would like to listen in to media_player volume_set and see what kind of volume is being set.
My use case is that my remote (roku_ultra) doesn’t seem to support volume_set and the tv-card i am using is not customizable and calls that volume_set regardless of configuration… i would like to catch that call and redirect it to my receiver (maybe adding some curves for the volume change)

other than my specific use case i am really curious on how to intercept services and trigger automation on that data, i really appreciate any help!

As far as I know, you can’t.
But if you explain your issue with volume then we can probably help you

1 Like

ah that sucks, i really thought that was something that we could do.

my issue with volume is that i am trying to use this card with a volume slider GitHub - usernein/tv-card: 📺 TV Remote Card (with touchpad and haptic feedback)
that slider doesn’t seem to work properly with my receiver, ranges don’t work right etc.
I have looked into the code and found this i can override

let slider_config = {
            "type": "custom:my-slider",
            "entity": this._config.entity,
            "height": "50px",
            "mainSliderColor": "white",
            "secondarySliderColor": "rgb(60, 60, 60)",
            "mainSliderColorOff": "rgb(60, 60, 60)",
            "secondarySliderColorOff": "rgb(60, 60, 60)",
            "thumbWidth": "0px",
            "thumbHorizontalPadding": "0px",
            "radius": "25px",
        };