HX711 load cell ESP8266

Hi there

I am trying to build a scale with the following components:

ESP8266 aka Wemos D1 mini
HX711
Load cell https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10245

I followed this tutorial where I used the below wiring from the right side of the HX711 and D1.
Bildschirmfoto 2022-06-04 um 01.30.37

I plan to only use one cell and used the wiring below between the load cell and HX711 (50kg Load Cells with HX711 and Arduino. 4x, 2x, 1x Diagrams. - Circuit Journal)

Unfortunately it doesnt seem to work, I cant get Arduino IDE to work in order to do the calibration.

question
has anybody knowledge how I could realize this with ESPHome and may help with the wiring? I have basic knowledge with ESPHome but not any with wiring load cells. I spent hours of research but couldnt find any suitable tutorial with my config including only one cell. for example I found this thread: ESP8266 + HX711 + 4 small load cells giving incorrect values

The goal is to use the scale for a “smart” toilet paper holder :wink:

all the best

Andrew

The wires colors on load cells are not always correct. With a resistance meter, a pair will be 2x the resistance. That pair should be the e- and e+ in your diagram

many thanks for the quick reply. I measured the resistance and as per 50kg Load Cells with HX711 and Arduino. 4x, 2x, 1x Diagrams. - Circuit Journal I have 1K between red and white or red and black.

this is how my code with ESPHome looks like:

esphome:
  name: loadcell

esp8266:
  board: d1_mini

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:

ota:
  password: "XX"

wifi:
  ssid: 'XX'
  password: 'XX'

# Example configuration entry
sensor:
  - platform: hx711
    name: "HX711 Value"
    dout_pin: D1
    clk_pin: D2
    gain: 128
    update_interval: 2s

the log always shows a value of 0 regardless how much pressure I put on the sensor. I even tried another HX711 and another load cell (also checked the resistance) but have the same results.