If Home Assistant had hardware developers, what should they make that doesn't already exist?

This probably won’t go anywhere… I’m curious what things people want to do, but the hardware isn’t really available to put together to solve the problem.

I’m thinking this could be an idea depot - an open-ended, possibly never-ending, discussion. Every now and then, someone does a custom board for themselves. Perhaps it’s a shield, or perhaps it’s a complete ESP or Pi based design. What if, with minor modifications, they could also solve someone else’s missing hardware issue also - either by adding just one more footprint on the PCB for a small device, or another connector, or ???

Or maybe at some point, someone takes a number of the ideas ideas and builds one board to solve them all.

And for anyone thinking of doing a hardware design, I’m an electrical engineer and happy to help review design ideas, identify parts, review schematics and layout, etc (in its own thread please. Let’s keep this one for higher level discussions).

To put some bounds on this, I think it’d be best to mostly exclude ideas that are already possible with separate devices/boards and a few jumper wires, unless it just becomes unwieldy. There are just too many possibilities.

And before anyone mentions them, yes, it’d be nice to have Home Assistant light bulbs, doorbells, switches, etc. But seems to me that most of those would be better served by working with an existing manufacturer and customizing it (OEM / ODM model).

A motor for existing blinds. I know there’s some DIY ones and a (very expensive!) zigbee one, but a simple clip on device that pulls strings shouldn’t be as hard to source at a reasonable price as it currently is.

2 Likes

Cooker Hoods (no not the whole thing)

Okay, So I just changed my cooker hood, the old one was ‘okay’ but just a little dinged and dirty (with grease) in the cracks and crevices and when you took it apart to clean I found even more.