Incremental Increase of Light Brightness

So I am very new to Home Assistant and have been working through it all quite well and am now at a stage where I want to do something a bit more clever.

What I want to do is incrementally increase and decrease the brightness of my lights which are there as a device on my dashboard. I can control this via the app which is fine, using the slider, but I am wanting to automate this via an additional input from my LIRC controller on a button press.

I am thinking the way to go about this would be to get the current brightness state of the bulb inside the configuration.yaml file and then to perform a calculation on this, so reduce it by 10 for example, and then pass this through to the turn_on service for that bulb.

Would this be the correct way about going about things? Is there allready something in existance that I just have missed? Is this even possible? If so - how do I go about getting the current value and then performing a calculation on it to send across… variables and the like!

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

1 Like

Hi!

You’ve got the right idea. In your states panel, are you able to see the brightness value as an attribute? For example, one of my lights looks like this…

Entity                 | State  | Attributes
light.living_room_lamp |   on   | {"brightness": 255, "friendly_name": "Living Room Lamp", "rgb_color": [255, 255, 255], "supported_features": 61}

In your automation or script, you’ll want to …

• Expose the attribute of your light entities’ brightness
  • React to the button press of your LIRC controller
  • Loop through all lights that have state == 'on'
  • Run the light.turn_on service with step1 +/- 10

If you are familiar with Python, I could easily help you with running an AppDaemon app (but this requires a little bit of setup). Otherwise, you will have to rely on the built-in methods within HomeAssistant. What you’re asking for is certainly VERY possible though!

3 Likes